Type B Mama Confessions: Dishes

21 Feb

If you are my friend on Facebook you probably saw this photo I posted a few weeks ago.

dishes

Yes, that is my sink full of dirty utensils. I wash a lot of dishes. We do have a dishwasher but when you do a lot of cooking from scratch three times a day, the dishes PILE up fast!

I have as long as I can remember had a “system” for washing dishes. Nothing taught or imposed upon me either. I think we all just have our own way of doing things but my “system” leaves the utensils for the end. My confession is that I will do days of dishes but allow the utensils to pile up. They are my least favorite dish to wash and my least favorite chore ever. I would rather wash 10 loads of laundry, vacuum, mop and sweep the entire house then spend the 15 minutes to wash this basin full of forks and knives.

I was so blessed to come downstairs that night to an empty sink because my husband washed those utensils for me. I wish that could always happen!

I’ve heard people say to eat your frog first and get the worst part out of the way, but I think that’s a type A response! It is probably better for my home to put off the utensils since my procrastination forces me to clean other things in avoidance. Those pesky cheese graters, spatulas, and veggie peelers become my motivators to fold clothes and clean out the fridge.

What chore do you hate the most? Maybe we can trade labor?

6 Responses to “Type B Mama Confessions: Dishes”

  1. Nona February 21, 2013 at 4:01 am #

    vacuuming.. YUCK! 🙂

    • Amanda February 21, 2013 at 4:03 am #

      want to switch!? I could vacuum All.Day.Long

  2. Arielle February 21, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

    I hate cleaning the high chair over… and over… and over… and over again. also putting away laundry

    • Amanda February 21, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

      hahaha I just don’t clean the high chair!

  3. Karen February 21, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    I take forever washing the garlic press or the whisk attachment on the kitchen aid! If that isn’t a first world problem though, I don’t know what is!

    • Amanda February 21, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      haha so true! I include all of those in my utensil pile. Blessed to have the first world problem even if it is annoying!

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

