Type B Mama Confessions: diapers

27 Feb

Before I was even pregnant with Linden I knew that I wanted to cloth diaper. There are so many reasons for this decision and I know EVERYONE knows the reasons. They are healthier, safer, cheaper, eco-friendly and of course cuter! If you don’t believe me, just look at the evidence below. I could get all preachy but I won’t because this isn’t a post about why I cloth diaper, although I may write some of those eventually. 

diaper

(This is my sweet boy in his BumGenius Elemental in moonbeam)

When I told Steven about my decision he was very supportive but also skeptical. I suppose he knows me too well. I always plan on doing everything I talk about, but sometimes my passion subsides and I fizzle out. These specific cloth diapers were a pretty big initial investment. Maybe that helped me stay motivated so I wouldn’t waste the money? I don’t know. Honestly, I love cloth. I have used disposables on Linden and with other children I have watched and I always come out of the experience reaffirmed in my choices. Some of you might be questioning my true Type B status because of this choice. Rest assured, it truly is the more Type B option. I get way more use out of these bad boys and have NEVER had a blow out. That means I have eliminated an entire batch of other problems that I hear about constantly from disposable diaper users.

My confession isn’t that I secretly HATE cloth or that I HATE doing diaper laundry. I actually enjoy it!

First I do a cold Rinse & Spin cycle.

laundry1

(My laundry room/downstairs bathroom)

Then I do a hot wash with an extra rinse.

laundry2

I am usually on top of things when it comes to the washing cycles. Probably because by the time I toss them into the wash I am running low on clean diapers. I started out washing them while leaving an ample supply of cleans behind but true to my nature, I now push it to the limit! So much so, that Linden sometimes gets a little extra “naked time” out of my procrastination.

Next, I pop them in the dryer (along with dryer balls and towels) on HIGH.

laundry3

Unless it is summer and I actually have my act together enough to line dry them, which I LOVE to do because they get sun bleached and look so darn quaint!

diapers

Because our diaper style is an All In One type, they do need a little extra drying time and so I will then put them on the timed dry for another 30-40 minutes.

laundry4

There they are! All clean and dry and ready to go upstairs and be put away! It takes 10 minutes out of my day to finish that last part. Most days, however, they remain right there in the dryer….. for a couple of days…. and by then I have to do another wash and repeat the cycle. The sad part is that I will go grab a diaper or two at a time and bring them up stairs to change Linden instead of just carrying them all at once. I know that doesn’t make sense and is totally inefficient. Since my normal choice is to carry EVERYTHING that goes upstairs all at once so I don’t have to go up and down stairs all day.

On super woman type A days I have no problem hauling them upstairs with toddler in tow and folding them all pretty into the drawer. But most days I just am too tired, lazy or in too much of a hurry to care.

So, my confession of the week is that for no apparent reason I can’t manage to take the diapers out of the dryer.

If you cloth diaper, do you struggle with completing the cycle?

3 Responses to “Type B Mama Confessions: diapers”

  1. Brittany @ The Pistachio Project February 28, 2013 at 12:14 am #

    I can get the diapers out of the dryer but they’ve been known to stay in the wet bag (clean one…my diaper transportation of choice) for a day or so. 😉

    • Amanda February 28, 2013 at 12:22 am #

      Oh yes! We have a wet bag and a bin that we alternate between. Many times I have managed to bring them upstairs they also hung out in the bag for a day or so too.

  2. Arielle March 14, 2013 at 2:44 am #

    Oh yeah – we’ve left diapers in the dryer on more than one occasion. Or I’ll take them all out and just dump them on the floor in the nursery, or leave them in the laundry basket. It feels so luxurious when they’re all nicely put away in the drawer… but – yeah – with a busy, learning to walk, baby boy – most of the time putting them away is just not anywhere near priority one – so on the floor they stay. haha!

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

The Emma Oglesby Show

the life musings of a girl named Emma...

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

