Toddler Bed

12 Mar

photo-15 photo-17

On Sunday we decided to convert Linden’s crib to the toddler bed setting. It was sort of spur of the moment. We have been saying for a few weeks that we should do it soon and for some reason Sunday was the day! The passed few mornings when I have gone in to the nursery to get Linden he has had his leg up and over the rail. He is only 16 and a half months old this week but I feel we should stay one step ahead. I would rather do it now before he manages to climb out and hurt himself.

photo-18Our crib is the Gulliver crib from Ikea. It is just a simple crib with two settings. It comes with a board that attaches to the bottom to convert the crib into a toddler bed. I do wish it had a rail as well but since the bed sits really low to the floor anyway, I was not that concerned.

Neither was Linden! He loved his new bed and all of the freedom.

photo-19 photo-20

We had success using the toddler bed for nap time but it was cut short for a birthday party so I still wasn’t sure what would happen when he woke up.

photo-21

At bed time it took about 20 minutes of playing and whining until there was silence.

photo-22

I couldn’t see Linden on the monitor anymore and when I snuck into his room I found him passed out flat on the floor.

photo-23

(Sorry for the horrendous picture. It is hard to take a good picture in pure darkness.)

Trying to control my laughter, I picked him up and moved him back to bed. He remained there fast asleep. A few hours later we heard a loud thud and saw that he had rolled off but remained asleep on the floor. Again, I picked him up and put him on the bed. An hour later we heard the thud AGAIN! This time he had managed to not only roll off the bed but also scooched underneath the rocking chair, all while still asleep! He woke up when I tried to move him and panicked because he was trapped. I got him to lie flat and slid him out. This is when I decided to roll up a towel and insert it under his sheet to create a small barrier which helped immensely!

He slept fairly well in his bed after that, except for his teething which woke him up a few more times in the middle of the night. I was utterly exhausted and when I woke up it was 9am! 7:30 is our usual wake up time but being up off and on all night I guess I needed to sleep. I woke up to find Linden happily playing in his room.

All in all, I think it has worked out well!

Check out our video channel and see Linden playing on his new bed.

Big Boy Bed

4 Responses to “Toddler Bed”

  1. Chassidy July 11, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    Hi, I have an ikea crib as well, but have not found a mattress that fits very well. What matress did you use?

  2. Brit August 23, 2013 at 12:34 am #

    I heard you could put a pool foam noodle under the sheet along the open side so they don’t roll out! 🙂 Sounds like a neat idea.

    • Amanda August 23, 2013 at 12:35 am #

      We did that the next night but it worked only so-so haha

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

The Emma Oglesby Show

the life musings of a girl named Emma...

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

