Whole30

22 Apr

For a few months we have been discussing and reading the book, It Starts With Food. We decided to do the 30 day challenge presented throughout the book AFTER our Chicago trip. We had to have the deep dish, after all! Sunday was our prep day and today it has begun.

whole30

For 30 days we are avoiding the “NO” list and embracing the “YES” list. I have been a vegetarian and/or vegan for 20 years and this will be an extremely difficult challenge for me. The past few years on our real food journey I have eliminated soy products as I’ve learned the dangerous and negative effects it has had on my body. I have slowly been introducing eggs and recently wild caught fish. I have always made bone broth for Steven from organic pasture raised chickens but the past few months I have been consuming it as well.

While I am still a vegetarian I will not be consuming any other meat but will be increasing my eggs, fish and broth intake. Vegetarians on the plan are allowed fermented soy and kefir but I will  avoid the fermented soy and limit kefir because I would like to adhere as close to the original plan as I can.

The Whole30 isn’t a diet. It is a full body reset. It is not meant to be a whole365 but many love how they feel after the 30 days and discover what foods may trigger issues in their own bodies and avoid those for the future while reintroducing others.

breakfast1

(Day 1 Breakfast: Sweet Potato Hash with pastured eggs fried in ghee)

ghee

(homemade ghee)

picstitch

(stocked and ready)

menu1

(First week menu plan)

3 Responses to “Whole30”

  1. Karen F April 22, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    Wow, that’s a big change! Looking forward to hearing about your experience!

  2. Brittany @ The Pistachio Project April 23, 2013 at 1:23 am #

    Hope it goes great! It sounds a lot like a raw diet (only you can cook your food and meat is included. 🙂 Once I’m done breastfeeding Verity I want to do another raw food diet…although maybe I’ll do whole30 as including meat would allow me to go much longer and get a full reset.

    • Amanda April 23, 2013 at 3:29 am #

      I recommend the book! It is really fun to read and informative. They touch on some nourishing traditions points in the book but are more on the side of why bother hassling with all of the hard work of preparing certain foods and just avoid them. The whole30 is totally safe during pregnancy and nursing because it is high in protein and healthy fat. I still nurse Linden, but only 2 or 3 times a day now. Since you eat meat it will be much easier for you!! Although they work really hard at breaking psychological issues with food as well as gut issues, hormonal issues and inflammation.

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

The Emma Oglesby Show

the life musings of a girl named Emma...

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

