Half way there! Whole30 Update Week 2

6 May

Well, we made it another week!

Day 8

day8

I had a quick breakfast of fried eggs, various veggies with almond spread and a side of cashews and strawberries. For lunch I had leftover broccoli soup and tuna salad. Dinner was asparagus with hollandaise sauce, roasted carrots and salmon cakes for me. Steven had a steak that night. Before he had that steak, however, it fell on the floor after the pyrex it cooked in exploded in Steven’s hands!!

Day 9

day9

My favorite breakfast of benedict florentine is becoming quite common these days. Lunch was a caesar salad and pesto sardine spaghetti squash. Dinner was fried eggs with ratatouille.

Day 10

day10

I started making a really quick breakfast that is basically frozen stir-fry vegetables mixed with scrambled eggs. Leftover salmon cakes for lunch are becoming another favorite around here too. They are just so good I could eat them for every meal. Thank God for leftovers this week! I have been cooking so much because not only am I preparing my meals but Steven is eating many different things that I am not so I have made double meals a lot of days.

Day 11

day11

Stir-fry veggie scramble and mango for breakfast again. Lunch and dinner were the same because I didn’t want to cook anything for dinner. Leftover bone broth vegetable soup and an egg wrap full of tomatoes, greens and avocado.

Day 12

day12

Are you noticing a trend yet? I am using the same photo, but for the stir-fry veggie breakfast I have alternated the fruit. The mango just looks so pretty. For Lunch I made salmon asparagus mini quiches with leftover soup and salad. Friday has become our Fish night. I made the almond crusted cod, sweet potato fries and coleslaw with tartar sauce just like last week.

Day 13

day13

A day of repeats and leftovers. Benedict florentine breakfast, soup and quiche for lunch and almond crusted fish for dinner.

Day 14

day14

Stir-fry veggie scramble and fruit for breakfast. Salmon quiches and salad for lunch. We had company Sunday evening and decided to grill. The men had grilled steaks and I had grilled salmon. I made a huge batch of balsamic grilled vegetables including yellow squash, zucchini, green beans, asparagus, red, yellow and orange bell peppers, garlic, shallots, and broccoli.

This week was hard for me. I have been struggling to keep up with the extra cooking while also trying to encourage Steven to stay the course. He has had such a rough time on this challenge and after a deep conversation, I think he now understands how important this is to me for us to make it the 30 days.

We successfully managed to attend a party and avoid all of the delicious food and cupcakes on Sunday! It was difficult but not at the same time. The Whole30 is a great way to teach your body to stop craving certain food items. It has worked. I no longer am craving sugar  but that doesn’t mean a platter full of delicious cupcakes doesn’t look appetizing! Even harder then cupcakes, the free cheese samples at WholeFoods! I love cheese!! I went without cheese for years as a vegan and that was the one thing I missed and that slowly won me back to a more lacto-vegetarian lifestyle.

15 more days to go!!

2 Responses to “Half way there! Whole30 Update Week 2”

  1. msssjenna May 7, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    your salmon patties look good! you’re doing a great job.

    • Amanda May 7, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

      Thanks they are from the book It Starts with Food.

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

The Emma Oglesby Show

the life musings of a girl named Emma...

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

