Ghee

10 May

We love fat in our house. Healthy fats of course! We only ever use olive oil, coconut oil and butter. While on the Whole30 challenge we are required to use these same  healthy fats but forbidden the use of butter. Instead we may use clarified butter or ghee.

Ghee is butter that has been clarified, which means all of the lactose and milk proteins have been removed leaving just the pure butterfat. You can buy already made ghee in the store but they are usually sold in teeny jars that run about $8+ per jar. That is just way too expensive for us and so the easiest solution is to make our own.

When making ghee it is best to use the highest quality butter you can find.  Grass fed butter is higher in vitamin D, K2 and A. We bought a 3 pack of Kerrygold from Costco which was a great deal!

IMG_2316

Finished product

I was able to get about 3/4 cups clarified butter from an 8oz stick of butter.

IMG_2380 Melt butter in a sauce pan over medium heat.

IMG_2381 IMG_2382

Allow it to boil and skim off butter solids periodically.

IMG_2384

Line a bowl with cheesecloth or rubber band a cloth napkin around a glass measuring cup like me.

IMG_2385

When your boiling ghee is mostly clear of butter solids, stops sputtering and is sticking to the bottom of your pan it is ready to strain.

IMG_2386

Your pan will look like this, butter solids stuck to the bottom.

IMG_2387

Remove your straining cloth and what is left is pure fat!

Ghee is shelf stable so there is no need to refrigerate it, but you can if you like. It will solidify the cooler it gets. If your house is warm it may stay more liquified. My house is always cold so it is solid just like my coconut oil. Ghee also has a very high smoke point so it is a wonderful fat to use while cooking on high heat.

I never used ghee before doing our Whole30 challenge because I love our coconut oil and butter, but I think I will use it a lot more going forward. It has been a joy to cook with and is nice when I don’t want that faint coconut taste in what I am cooking.

2 Responses to “Ghee”

  1. Leah May 14, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    I love buying Kerrygold at Costco & Trader Joe’s is so much cheaper then the regular store. I have not made my own ghee, but I am hoping to do a whole 30 near the end of the summer so I will definitely book mark this.

    • Amanda May 15, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

      It feels like such a treasure, doesn’t it!? One big gold brick hahah Good luck on your whole30!

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

The Emma Oglesby Show

the life musings of a girl named Emma...

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

