Whole30 Results

28 May

20130524-015222.jpg

{Forgive the lack of makeup and bad lighting}

The above picture is my before and after the Whole30. While the point of the Whole30 is not to lose weight, it is a common side effect for many. I welcome any and all weight loss! I actually forgot to weight myself until a few days into the challenge and a few days after the challenge but I say I lost about 12-15lbs. We have a dial scale that is not the most accurate which is why I have a  range of weight loss. I never took my measurements but I could notice a big change in how my clothes fit.

after3

after2

after

{I haven’t been able to zip this dress since Steven and I were engaged/newly married. Still tight but it zips!}

The Whole30 boasts many benefits that most people experience while on the challenge. Some of these benefits most experience  include: more energy also called Tiger Blood, loss of cravings, better sleep, and  weight loss.

Weight loss: Achieved!

Better Sleep: I honestly believe I did sleep better. I did have  a lot of crazy vivid dreams though.  I was able to fall asleep much faster then normal and slept like a log! Usually I toss and turn a lot more.

Tiger Blood/Energy: Overall, I did not experience this. I think I had a few days that I had a good amount of energy but it is difficult to tell. I am also a mama of a toddler who is teething and wakes me up off and on during the night and saps my energy during the day! Perhaps I would have been able to sustain more of the energy if I wasn’t chasing Linden all day.

Cravings: This one is also a little hard to tell. Did I miss grains like crazy, yes! I did fine without them but it never felt like a complete meal without some sort of grain! One side effect I did not expect but have enjoyed is the lack of sugar cravings! I am still drinking coffee without sugar. I have indulged in a few sweets since being off of the challenge, but they definitely haven’t had the same pull as before. Everything is extra sweet tasting and so what I have had, has been less due to the intensity. One scoop of ice cream is SO SWEET! I am gladly using this lack of sugar cravings as a jumping off point to maintain a less sweetened lifestyle moving forward.

I also noticed less allergies. I am usually a lot more sensitive to what ever is blowing around outside and frequently experience runny noses and sneezing fits. I noticed a drastic change in my allergic reactions. Which is AMAZING! Especially during spring time in the pacific northwest!

Everyone keeps asking me if it has changed my approach to food. Yes and no. We have always been a family who valued whole foods, organics, grass fed meats and home cooking. Those aspects of the Whole30 are probably why this challenge resonated with me in the first place. The part about moving forward in a more paleo lifestyle is not for us. We did it for 30 days but will not continue to be 100% grain free. I am however trying to include more protein into our meals. Not 1-2 palm sizes of protein at every meal like during the challenge, but at least one or two meals per day including a decent portion of protein.

I am also trying to limit the grains a bit more as well as return to a more  concentrated focus towards properly preparing the grains we do eat. It is really easy to let the soaking, sprouting and fermenting of foods slide during the busy days of motherhood. Pre Linden, I was much more diligent in our grain preparation. I slacked off a lot in the past year and since Linden was grain free until about 14 months old, when his molars came in. Now that he is eating grains, I really desire to make them as nourishing for him as possible, and for us as well.

Dairy is another area we are trying to keep at a minimum. We love dairy but eat entirely too much. Not that dairy is bad! We have always tried to have better quality dairy but the amounts we consumed were so much that we often had to lower our standards to fit within budget. Moving forward, I am dedicating more to quality and less to quantity.

Speaking of budget…. this is the BIGGEST impact we experienced for the negative. We more then doubled our grocery budget for this plan. Granted we did not eat out AT ALL or even go out to do anything so it was sort of a wash financially. We knew going into it that we would spend much more on groceries. When you are buying 1-2 palm sized portions of high quality protein per person per meal, it adds up quick! My protein sources were not as much because I ate mostly canned wild caught salmon and tuna, fresh wild caught cod from my parents and local pastured eggs. Steven, however, ate lamb, steaks, ground beef, pork, chicken, sausage, all grass fed, pastured and organic. Now, the Whole30 doesn’t require this. They encourage it as much as possible but give you options when not possible. We really did splurge. I have no idea how anyone could maintain that for long term unless they had purchased a half of a cow a head of time, owned chickens and went fishing every weekend!

The principals gained were worth it though. I learned that I, a long time vegetarian, can in fact survive without rice, beans, oatmeal, bread, quinoa, cheese, and  sugar. I learned that I can be a lot more resourceful in the kitchen. I learned a lot about my own cravings and self discipline. I also learned Steven hates dieting and will never try another one!

Take Aways: You can do it! If I can do it, and Steven can do it, so can you. Have a support system in place, utilize the forum on Whole9life.com, meal plan and think ahead for those unexpected life circumstances.

Do you have any other questions? I might have left some points out so please ask away!

11 Responses to “Whole30 Results”

  1. msssjenna May 29, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    your results are amazing! Way to stick with it for 30 days – thanks for your insight.

  2. Amanda May 29, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    thanks for following!

  3. Becky B May 29, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    I know I always ask you, but will you put the book title/author here?

  4. Becky B May 29, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    also, how did you approach the planning steps? does the book/website help with that? How far in advance did you plan meals? a week?

    • Amanda May 29, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      Great question! The book contains a meal planning template as well as a bunch of recipes and resources for more. I personally just planned as I do normally with a weekly menu. It was more difficult for me in that I was planning separate meals for Steven a majority of the time. I also don’t normally plan for breakfasts or lunches in detail and on this challenge you really need to focus on each meal.
      I think for one person doing the plan it would be much easier to batch cook a few meals and have them ready for the week. I did this in small ways but again, I was making pretty much different meals breakfast, lunch and dinner for myself and 3 more for Steven.

  5. Arielle May 30, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    Way to go Colo’s! I doubt it’s something the Swanson’s will be delving into any time soon (if ever… haha) – but it’s seriously interesting – and your whole food, healthy eating has always been an inspiration to me and has already spurred change in our regular eating habits. I so appreciate gleaning from you!

    • Amanda May 31, 2013 at 3:53 am #

      Aww thank you my sweet friend! I wouldn’t do the challenge pregnant even though it is totally safe! I would not be able to handle it with the cravings and aversions haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole Health August | Confessions of a Type (B) Mama - July 30, 2014

    […] many of you might remember, I did a Whole30 last May. I vowed to continue many of the habits and use that month as a jumping off point to […]

  2. Whole Health August Week 1 Update | Confessions of a Type (B) Mama - August 8, 2014

    […] 1. Participating in the Whole30 program started by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig, the authors of “It Starts With Food”. I did a Whole30 last year which you can read about here. […]

  3. Whole Health August – Reintroduction & Results | Confessions of a Type (B) Mama - September 8, 2014

    […] last Whole30 I lost about 12-15lbs. This round I lost 15-16 lbs. I also had my act together last time with […]

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

The Emma Oglesby Show

the life musings of a girl named Emma...

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

