Applesauce

15 Oct

I have been wanting to try my hand at home canning for a long time but for some reason it frightens me. I bought a canner this spring with the intention of canning jam, tomatoes, pickles and applesauce this year. Unfortunately, our garden harvest wasn’t as abundant as we had anticipated and we were able to keep up with the produce with ease. Our plum tree also failed to really produce well this year. Last year we were swimming in plums! Plus, being pregnant I have lost all energy to accomplish many of these extra tasks and struggle to keep up with the ordinary tasks of running a household and raising a toddler.

Since we went apple picking and brought home 23 lbs of apples, I had no excuse but to finally do some canning. Yesterday I made a big stock pot of applesauce. I used this video as a guide from one of my favorite blogs, Passionate Homemaking, that sadly is no longer active. Her video shows how to make easy no peel sauce.

I washed, cored and chopped my 11+ lbs of Jonagolds.

DSC_0193

Due to the size and strength of my blender I pureed my apples in batches of four chopped apples and 1/2 cup filtered water and repeated until all apples were pureed.

DSC_0196

Pour all pureed apple, skins and all, into a stock pot and warm on low heat. Add a little cinnamon and sucanat if desired to flavor and counter the tartness.

DSC_0198

Meanwhile, prepare your jars and water canner. Fill up your jars, leaving the appropriate head space and process for 20 minutes fully submerged in the boiling water.

DSC_0212

 

Remove your jars from the canner after 20 minutes and set to cool. After 24 hours check to see that the jars are sealed and don’t pop.

DSC_0216

Since this was my first time canning, I decided to only can 6 pint jars. I saved another jar that is a tad larger than a quart to go immediately into the fridge and the teeny bit extra I put in to a freezer container to freeze. Over all I made about 19 cups of sauce!

I was hoping Linden would love it as much as store bought sauce because it does have a slight gritty texture from the skins. It is more nutritious with the skins and heartier in my opinion but it had to pass the taste test after all the hard work!

DSC_0205

The verdict: Finger licking good! He devoured 2 bowls of sauce and asked for a third but I gave him an actual lunch instead.

I checked my jars today and they are all sealed so my first canning adventure was a success! It was not as scary as I had always imagined it to be. I will be more bold next time and can more.

 

 

2 Responses to “Applesauce”

  1. Ruth August 28, 2014 at 10:30 pm #

    Thank you for this recipe! I am a “gleaner” and we have had a lot of apples lately but I just couldn’t imagine spending all the time to peel them. This inspires me.
    Really, your whole blog is quite impressive, busy young mom!!

    • Amanda August 29, 2014 at 2:55 pm #

      Thank you Ruth! We have a friend named Darren who is also a gleaner and often gives us bread 🙂 We actually just opened our last jar of this applesauce and everyone still loves them and can barely tell the peel is included. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

