Wild Rice Soup

5 Nov

I wasn’t planning on blogging about this but I had so many requests for the recipe that it was just easier to post it here.

Wild rice soup

A post shared by amandacolo (@amandacolo) on

{hence the terrible phone picture}

 

 

Ingredients:

2 tbsp coconut oil

1 large onion diced

2 cups carrots

2 cups celery

3 cups cannellini beans

4 cups chicken or veggie stock (You may use more for cooking rice and/or thinning out soup to desired consistency)

1 1/4 cups wild rice

4 cups whole milk or cream

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup flour

(The following additions should be added to taste. You may add more or less.)

2-3 TBSP apple cider vinegar (you could use a nice dry white wine instead of acv)

1 TBSP garlic powder

1 TBSP thyme

1 TBSP parsley

a dash of curry powder

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp salt

freshly grated parmesan

 

1. Cook your wild rice. You can cook it in water or extra stock. If you are using homemade chicken stock it can help to break down phytic acid in your rice. For 1 1/4 cups wild rice use just a tad over 3 cups of liquid. Bring to a boil then add rice. Cover and turn temp down to low for 45 minutes.

2. Heat coconut oil in a large pot and add your diced carrots, celery and onion. Saute for 5-8 minutes on medium heat.

3. Add 4 cups of stock. Bring to a boil then lower heat to a simmer for 20 minutes. About half way through this 20 minute simmer, add your 3 cups of cannellini beans.

4. While your soup is simmering you need to make a simple roux. In a small sauce pan melt 1 stick of butter over medium low heat and add 1/2 cup flour. Whisk till combined and creamy. Turn it on low and continue to whisk often to prevent burning. You want to cook it through to eliminate the flour taste. I cooked it for about 12 minutes and turned it off. I still whisked it every so often until I was ready to use it.

5. After 20 minute simmer add in your cooked rice and 4 cups of cream. Return to a gentle boil and then simmer for 5 minutes.

6. Add in your roux in 3 additions. Mixing it thoroughly after every addition.

7. Add your spices and season according to your taste. I say this because I actually never measured any of these and just added them in till I liked the flavor!  Again, I never intended on blogging this recipe so I wasn’t mindful of my real amounts. I also added in extra stock to thin it out to my desired consistency. After adding in the roux it can get quite thick.

We served this soup as our dinner with a simple slice of sourdough bread and butter on the side. It is very hearty and satisfying as a soup entree. You can add chicken or turkey instead of the cannellini beans if you would rather.  Since I don’t eat chicken, I used beans.

I adapted this recipe from a handful of various recipes to accommodate the fact that I wasn’t using chicken and Steven and I both hate mushrooms. For some reason everyone thinks the best vegetarian substitution for meat is 10 lbs of mushrooms. FYI it is not!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

The Emma Oglesby Show

the life musings of a girl named Emma...

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

