Whole Health August

30 Jul

August

As many of you might remember, I did a Whole30 last May. I vowed to continue many of the habits and use that month as a jumping off point to further health. Did that happen? NOPE! I actually got pregnant basically the last week on my Whole30 and the morning sickness, food aversions and eventual cravings took right on over. I had eliminated the sugar dragon last round but Lilah made me crave sweets like never before! So not only did I gain back that 15 lbs but added even more baby weight to the equation. During my pregnancy I decided I would do another round starting August 1st. It is our least busy summer month, we always have a bounty of produce from our garden and our CSA, and Lilah would be nearing 6 months old.

With each approaching day I get more ideas. And because I am crazy, I am doing more than a Whole30 this year. Steven likes to say I am “all or nothing” with things, which is pretty true. That is why I have decided to declare August, Whole Health August!

I will be doing a Whole30. I will also be committing to doing the 30 Day Shred workout by Jillian Michaels. And to round out the mind, body, spirit connection, I will be focusing on spending at least 30 minutes for 30 days of Bible reading and devotional time. The devotional time is something I have been slacking on consistently since adding more and more children to our life. There is no excuse other than I have allowed the business of life to distract too often and so I am focusing extra time and energy to make sure I get that much needed time with my Lord. My Bible reading on most days lately is reading David and Goliath 10 times a day to Linden because he is OBSESSED. {tangent: have you seen these videos of our favorite Jesus Storybook Bible stories? Awesome!}

I am hoping that this Whole30 will actually be the jumping off point for me that I had intended round 1 to be. Since I do not plan on having any more babies for  a long while, there is no excuse. I am ready to work hard and ready to feel like myself again. We have a trip to Italy in the future with Steven’s family. It is looking like it will be around September or October 2015. I want to feel like a hot mama in Italy! That gives me a little over a year to really focus on my whole health. I am not looking for perfection and cannot promise I will not fail but the idea is to be accountable for 30 days. Perhaps 30 days will lead to 365!

 

 

4 Responses to “Whole Health August”

  1. karenrfoxleyatfoxleymanor July 30, 2014 at 7:30 pm #

    Those all sound like great goals, Amanda! Good for you! I get cleared to work out on August 7th hopefully so I will jump in on the 30 Day shred with you then if you’d like a friend / accountability partner! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole Health August Week 1 Update | Confessions of a Type (B) Mama - August 8, 2014

    […] you read my last post, I am doing a Whole Health August personal challenge. Today is day 8 but I would like to give you a run down of how the first week […]

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

