Whole Health August 2

16 Aug

photo

If you hadn’t heard yet, we had a Super Moon last weekend. That super moon is the reason for my cycle returning, I am 100% postitive. It also made my children go completely nuts! You may think I am crazy to believe in the connection between lunar activity, mood and menstrual cycles but I think it is pretty telling that our word “lunatic” contains the latin word “luna” for moon. All that to say I was a crazy mama with crazy kiddos. Having my cycle return after almost 16 months, while on this Whole 30 reminded me of this SNL skit Annuale. I was basically out of commission for a few days. I stayed true to Whole30 food but just about everything else fell to the wayside.

IMG_8546

Breakfast: My favorite roasted red potatoes and tomato kale egg scramble!

Lunch: “BLTA’s” with tempeh. I reused that picture but besides mixing up the fruit or veg it was the same.

Dinner: Left-over lemony green beans, veggies and dip and salmon cakes.

30 Day Shred: ü

Devotions: ü Yes, because if I didn’t I know my hormones would have gotten the best of me.

IMG_8568

Breakfast: REPEAT! Can you actually eat too much kale? I should look into that. At least it is cooked! Because just in case you didn’t know this, kale and other cruciferous vegetables are best eaten when cooked because they contain enzymes that inhibit thyroid function and a host of other things.

Lunch: Umm this was an interesting day. I was trying to clean out the leftovers and had salmon cakes with tomato and avocado in cabbage wraps. Not the tastiest combo.

Dinner: Cauliflower rice with stir-fry veggies and an asian style cod.

30 Day Shred: Heck no!

Devotions: I haven’t figured out how to make time alone on weekends.

IMG_8569

Breakfast: A quick breakfast before church of scrambled eggs and an apple.

Lunch: Tuna salad with dipping veggies.

Dinner: Leftover cauliflower rice and stir-fry with asian cod.

30 Day Shred: Nope… with getting up early for church and my raging cycle I was not about to listen to Jillian’s voice that day.

Devotions: No, but we made it to church and I actually was able to sit in service for the worship, which is rare!!

image

Breakfast: Kale tomato egg bowl.

Lunch: I was craving tuna melts on toast with cheese so I topped zucchini slices with tuna salad and tomato slices and broiled them. It was delicious.

Dinner: Egg “tortilla” with scrambled eggs, potatoes, avocado, tomatoes, olives, cilantro and mayo.

30 Day Shred:ü

Devotions:ü

image_1

Breakfast: Repeat! I actually made a double batch on monday because tuesday we had a play date and mornings are chaos on those days.

Lunch: Another egg tortilla!

Dinner: Pecan encrusted halibut with lemon garlic spinach and mashed potatoes.

30 Day Shred:ü

Devotions:ü

image_2

Breakfast: I ran out of kale. So I had a tomato spinach egg bowl and an americano with coconut milk.

Lunch: Vegetable soup in bone broth with a side of fried eggs.

Dinner: leftovers.

30 Day Shred: I actually got up and dressed to work out but it didn’t happen. Lilah was up about every hour that night and I was a zombie mama. I tried. I got my clothes and shoes on, came down stairs, sat down for a few minutes and fell asleep. So I woke up and did my devotions and than went on a quick coffee run. We actually had tree guys over to our house that morning too, which I will write about later.

Devotions:ü 

image_3

Breakfast: Stir-fry veggie egg scramble and grapes.

Lunch: Repeat soup and eggs

Dinner: Sweet potato fries, pineapple “teriyaki” tuna burger in lettuce. I have not mastered the lettuce burger wrapping. MESSY!!

30 Day Shred: Night two of “Lilah the Lycanthrope”! This time I opted for just sleeping while she slept, instead of trying to work out and than passing out on the couch like the day before.

Devotions: Because I “slept in” it was a hectic morning which turned into a busy day, as Thursdays always are for us. In the summer we get our CSA from an organic farm in Arlington and so we switch up our normal Sunday or Monday grocery shopping trips to Thursdays.

 

All in all, it was a pretty hard week. Thankfully my body is back to normal! Emotionally, I felt pretty discouraged about missing so many workouts. I am trying to be gracious with myself though since going from not working out at all for over a year, to even a few times a week is a great change! Thankfully Lilah has slept a bit better the past few nights, although still wakeful. She is so near crawling that I think it is “milestone sleep regression” or teething. I am very proud of myself for sticking with this Whole30 round so far. Last round I had Steven with me. This time there is plenty of non-approved food around and I haven’t been tempted really to partake. I’d say the struggle isn’t so much temptation as it is autopilot. I have almost taken bites of things just to see if it was too hot for Linden, or while passing by and talking I almost sneak a bite of something. It shows how much mindless grazing I have been partaking in.

I still miss toast though…. mmm sourdough slathered in butter! homer!2 {Don’t you love my sweet ‘photoshop’ skills?!}

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

