Whole Health August 4+

5 Sep

 

photo-79

This update is late, I know. I wanted to include the last few days of the 30 day challenge in this post so as to avoid a weird 2 day update for days 29 and 30. I will preface this update with a confession; I quit the 30 day shred. 😦 If you have been following, you know I had very spotty workouts because of sleep deprivation and exhaustion. It only got worse. Lilah was waking 6+ times a night. She would be up for hours straight. This effected my morning devotional time as well. And although I didn’t “quit” those, I missed many days and lost track. So for the remainder of this I will not include those in my update either. I  know my attitude should be to push through and do it anyway but it is just not me. I NEED my sleep and losing hours upon hours of it made it difficult to function and I am very proud of myself for sticking to a strict Whole30 diet while so tired. Something had to give and it was the workouts. Oh yeah, we also decided to potty train Linden during this time as well. What were we thinking!?!?! There was just way too much on my plate but at least it was Whole30 approved. 🙂 

IMG_8881

Breakfast: Asian stir-fry scramble for breakfast.

Lunch: A zoo trip meant hardboiled eggs, carrots, banana and lara bar for an on the go lunch.

Dinner: beer battered fish and sweet potato fries with homemade ketchup and watermelon. 

IMG_8882Breakfast: Simple scrambled eggs with spinach and tomatoes.

Lunch: Tuna melts on zucchini rounds.

Dinner: haha This day was nuts! I canned 16 qts of pickles that day so, out of starvation, I tossed whatever I could in a bowl and inhaled. I nuked a purple potato and topped it with leftover cauli alfredo sauce and had a spinach salad with hard boiled eggs and mayo as a dressing. Everyone else ate pizza!! 

IMG_8925

 

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs with tomatoes, home fried potatoes and blueberries.

Lunch: Fried eggs with spaghetti squash and marinara.

Dinner: Plantain fish tacos!! The best meal I have eaten on this Whole30! I grilled up some Mahi Mahi and tossed it with a slaw made up of tomatoes, cabbage, mango, onion, cilantro, avocado, jalapeño, and lime juice. 

IMG_8927Breakfast: Savory egg tortilla with blueberries and a side of squash and greens. It tasted like a blueberry pancake! 

Lunch: Side salad with coconut milk ranch and an artichoke sun-dried tomato egg bake. I adapted this recipe to be Whole30 and added 6 eggs to bump up the protein. 

Dinner: Leftover plantain tacos. 

IMG_8929Breakfast: Egg tortilla topped with marinara and “pizza toppings”. This was delicious!! It really quenched my pizza craving. 

Lunch: Leftover italian egg bake and salad. This casserole made lunch for DAYS!! 

Dinner: Tuna burger with roasted purple potatoes and broccoli romanesco. 

IMG_8937Breakfast: Leftover veggies from last nights dinner and some burned fried eggs because life is super glamorous haha.

Lunch: Repeat!

Dinner: Fried eggs with spaghetti squash and marinara. 

IMG_8961Breakfast: Egg pizza again!

Lunch: I will say it is much easier to do a Whole30 when you batch cook. Leftovers!

Dinner: Broccoli, zucchini and balsamic glazed salmon. 

IMG_9122Breakfast: Roasted purple potatoes and a sun-dried tomato and greens scramble.

Lunch: Leftovers.

Dinner: Tuna salad in purple cabbage cups with garbage soup.

IMG_9124Breakfast: Repeat!

Lunch: Eggs and garbage soup

Dinner: Potatoes and eggs benedict florentine on a bed of spinach. 

 

That is all folks!!! A complete Whole30! I am super proud of myself for sticking with it. There were some hard days in these final weeks. I almost through in the towel a couple times just because I was super tired and the idea of cooking somedays required me to summon all of the strength I could muster. I am trying to not feel horrible about quitting the workouts. I am a perfectionist and really hate when I don’t live up to the standards I set for myself. This is something God is really working on with me. I often don’t try because I know certain things will not be how I envision and so why do it? I am learning to embrace my “failures” and not be so short sighted. I worked out 11 out of 30 days. Granted I had days that were workout level active but I only had 11/30 shred days.   But that is 11 more than I had last month so I can move forward and hope to get that number up in the future. 

Lilah has been sleeping a little bit better ( by little I mean from 6 to 3 or 4 wakings.) I am starting to wonder if my Whole30 diet effected my milk supply. She started this waking before August but it definitely got worse during the month of August. We shall see if it continues to get better as I reintroduce other foods.

I am currently in the Reintroduction phase of the Whole30. I will do a final update next week to round it all out. 

 

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

