Two Thirds In?

22 Jun

Saturday was 2/3rds of the way into this 3rd round of Whole30. My previous 2 rounds I was much more diligent in doing weekly updates. This round, however, I haven’t felt the need to update so often. Let me explain: previously my intention in doing weekly updates was for accountability. It was much harder to stick with the plan and having the motivation of an update to record my progress gave me that extra push to keep going. This 3rd round is so much different. I have lost track of the days. I have surrendered to the process. I am honestly not counting down the days to the “end”. I feel amazing! I think the countdown mentality of previous Whole30 rounds was a great set up for my overall failure post Whole30. Instead of it being a push for daily clean eating, it was a race to win and finish. Something has switched this time around. I am not counting the days till I can have toast or cheese. Not that I don’t miss them! I just feel this round becoming more about lifestyle instead of a challenge with an expiration date.

I believe part of the reason for the change is that I now have more variety in my food options. A few months ago I started including organic and pastured chicken into my diet. It was a very hard choice to make. I became a vegetarian at the age of 9. I was also vegan for 6 combined years (3 years in high school and 3 years post college) I am 31 so if you do the math, that’s 22 years without eating meat. I started adding fish into my diet 2 years ago and eggs a few years prior to that. It has been a slow process of adding humanely treated, good quality animal protein into my diet. I do make sure I consume wild caught fish, pasture raised organic eggs and now the same for chicken. After being a vegetarian for the majority of my life, it is so crucial to me that I make these responsible choices in sourcing animal protein. Not only for my health but also for the health of the animal. It has taken me a while to get used to the texture and flavor, but I think I am slowly getting more comfortable with it.

Some of you may be asking, why? Why include animal protein? For years I thought I was doing things right and getting enough protein. I also consumed a lot of soy. As a young person I didn’t yet know about the dangers of GMOs and the estrogenic properties of soy. I have suffered with my own hormonal and gut issues in response to that. I eliminated soy from my diet about 6 years ago (except for the occasional organic tempeh or tofu less than a handful of times a year). I saw immediate positive results in my mood, hormones and skin around that time. That was also around the time my eyes were opened to the world of GMO’s and our corrupt food system. I eliminated soy and was left with a hole in my protein source. That is when I added eggs back into my diet. I thought that eliminating soy and adding in good quality eggs would be enough to help heal the damage to my body but it was not. As a vegetarian my diet has been very grain based. Grains, legumes, dairy and sugar are all major no-no’s when healing a leaky gut. But without adding in additional animal protein there would not be a sustainable way to consume less grains and heal. I think this will be a longer process and I may eventually need to follow some auto-immune protocols and eliminate eggs and night shades to determine trouble spots for my body. But for now I am focusing on just adding in more protein.

If you are still reading, thank you! hahaha All of that ties back into what I said in the beginning. The addition of chicken has given me so much more variety with eating grain/dairy free that this round of Whole30 feels much easier and sustainable for long term.

{Check out some of the yummy foods I have been eating on my Instagram.}

Making Asian style halibut in parchment pockets. #hellosaturday #whole30

A post shared by amandacolo (@amandacolo) on

The only thing that isn’t sustainable, is the amount of dishes created while doing a Whole30!!!!!

IMG_0157

Leave a Reply

Learning Through Grace

Learning how to be a Godly wife, mom, daughter, sister and friend through everyday life.

cyle talley

writer | noise maker | prevaricator

Krysann Joye

Through tiny people's tantrums, quotidian duties, marriage, grief, and way too much Netflix, there is Beauty with a big B. It's fragrant, it's healing, it's distinct. This is how I gather bouquets of thorny, wild Light - still covered in dirt and probably a few stinging bugs. It's a bit messy here, but I'm honored to have you and I hope you find some of the Good Stuff.

Morache Life

through story & image

The Fit Twin

| foundations for a healthier you |

Pasttheoutercourts's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

bearingthestormbytheson

Chronicles of learning to walk by faith

@dieffs

clean eating + fitness. it's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change.

Passionate Homemaking

Living simply & sustainably in order to give generously

The Beth Anne Blog

It's really my "personal" journal that, for some reason, I share with complete strangers. I'm weird like that.

